Geoff McPherson Scholarships Ceremony – June 2019

Louise Aubin UNHCR

18th June 2019

To assist with marking United Nations World Refugee Week 2019, on Tuesday 18 June 2019 CRS will award 45 scholarships to Canberra region students with a refugee/asylum-seeker background. The awardees are aged from 6 to adult, and are currently undergoing primary, secondary, or post-secondary education in the Canberra region.

The scholarships are named after Mr Geoff McPherson AM, founding President of Canberra Refugee Support Inc. Geoff is expected to be at the ceremony.

The purpose of the scholarships is to recognise meritorious performance and to encourage and support outstanding refugee students. Each scholarship recipient receives a cash grant and an award certificate to mark the occasion.

Awards will be presented by Mr Chris Steel MLA, Minister for Multicultural Affairs and Ms Louise Aubin, UNHCR Regional Representative

The location of the award presentation is the Function Room, Theo Notaras Multicultural Centre, Civic Square, London Circuit, Canberra (Level 2, above the Canberra Museum and Gallery).

The award ceremony will commence at 9.30am, followed by a morning tea.

CRS members and members of the public are invited to attend the award ceremony and morning tea.